An interview with Revant Himatsingka

An interview with Revant Himatsingka, author of Selfienomics – A seriously funny guide to living the good life.

 

Author Photo.JPG
Revant Himatsingka, author of Selfienomics

 

As a graduate of NYU Stern School of Business, Revant was initially headed for a career in Finance. Soon after, he left his Wall Street job and also turned down an MBA offer from IIM Bangalore in order to pursue his passion for improving the thought process of India’s youth.

He wrote Selfienomics at the age of 22-23 and became one of the youngest authors to sign a contract with Bloomsbury. This is his debut novel.

 

Please describe your book in one sentence.

Selfienomics is a seriously funny guide to being the best version of yourself.

 

Tell us in brief, what led up to this book?

I wanted to reach out to a large number of people. As a 22 year-old, you have 4 options to reach out to a wide audience—create a high-quality social media page, make a movie, join politics, or write a book.

Social media is too over-crowded so people don’t take you seriously. Movie and politics require a lot of experience and a team of people. Writing a book is the most convenient option—it requires no experience and can be done individually. All you need is a laptop (or a pen and paper). So I decided to write a self-help book aimed at improving the thought process of the youth.

 

What authors do you admire?

I am more influenced by directors than authors. I like the way Rajkumar Hirani combines humour with life-lessons. I feel if Selfienomics was written by a director, it would be Rajkumar Hirani. Some of the authors who I like are Stephen Covey, Viktor Frankl, Mitch Albom.

 

Do you have an agent?

Yes

 

What inspires you to write?

I’m not a writer, I’m a thinker. It’s the thinker in me which forced me to write. I was frustrated at the way people spent their time and money and I had the self- confidence that I could contribute in changing it.

 

Do you have days when writing is a struggle? How do you keep yourself motivated?

In this age, there are more demotivating things happening rather than motivating. So you have to try and find motivation, rather than wait for motivation. I changed my email password to #Iamanauthor. Everytime, I typed my password, it motivated me to complete my book. This particularly helped when I accidently deleted 2 chapters. I had taken 1 month to write those chapters. I got frustrated. I thought of giving up the book. But the simple act of typing #Iamanauthor made me go ahead with the book and rewrite the chapters.

 

What are your favorite books to give and get as gifts?

To Give- Selfienomics

To get-  7 habits of highly effective people

 

Hardest thing about being a writer?

Most writers are either students, or are doing full-time jobs elsewhere. So they typically write in their free-time. If you want to become an author, you have to learn how to make the most of your free time.

 

Best piece of writing advice?

Don’t overplan. Just begin.

 

Buy yourself a copy of Selfienomics – A seriously funny guide to living the good life.

Join our facebook group for Freak Deals on books, recommendations, discussions and connect to readers from all across the world.

 

 

Leave a Reply

